TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Recent Posts

  • Tall Ship Tweets- Follow me on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

#976 Ships emerging through fog

Posted by Tall Ships America on August 9, 2011

Halifax was the very first Canadian city I had ever travelled to. It was the summer of 2007 and we had been beaten down by the sweltering heat in Charleston and Norfolk. The events were spectacular but, being from the Northeast, I just couldn’t get over the oppressive weather. No wonder everything moves so slow down there, if you move fast you risk passing out. Between work and my Yankee attitude, slowing down wasn’t an option so it was a relief to travel up north again as the Race Team cooled down in Newport and I couldn’t wait to travel up to Halifax.

 Tall Ships America (The New Face of ASTA) is headquarted in Newport, RI so we get the occasional foggy day. But nothing had prepared me for Nova Scotia in July. The first few days we were there, prior to the ships arrival, looked like this:

Since I had never been to Halifax before, I had no inkling as to what the city looked like for the first few days I was there. I had no idea there is a huge citadel that overlooks the city (on a clear day, it’s kind of hard to miss).  Nor did I realize that the harbor and the waterfront are huge. My entire image of the city consisted of ghostly shapes that emerged as I walked around and struggled to piece together the layout.

The day of the ship’s arrivals was another foggy day but, instead of dampening my enthusiasm, it actually turned into one of the eeriest arrival days I have ever experienced. Standing down at the waterfront, I could hear water slapping against a wooden hull, and the creaking and clanging of the rigging. Orders were heard being shouted and then…the bow of the ship would poke through the curtain of fog and slowly, sloooowwwwly, the rest of the ship would take shape as she emerged and ghosted up to the dock. It was spooky, surreal and awesome. 

Below is Eagle during another foggy arrival in 2009 -

America's Tall Ship EAGLE emerges through the fog into Halifax. Photo Credit: Mike Dembeck

(Not to worry- after the ships all arrived, we had gorgeous, sunny weather with crisp blue skies for the events and, as always, a wonderful time in a great maritime city)

Thank you, Leanne for the photo! 

Have an idea or a story you want to share? Email it to me at erin@tallshipsamerica.org and I’ll add it to the blog with props to you.

Major credit to 1000 Awesome Things for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

