TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Mary – ASTA Intern

Posted by calebpifer on June 22, 2006

When meeting most families for the first time, parents recount stores from the past and bring out the pictures of “THE FIRSTS” first steps, first bath etc. When most people visit my house my parents recount the story of my first sailing trip, and my mother always jokes that I could sail before I could walk. Ever since that first trip I was drawn to the water, in later years sailing Ensigns and 420’s and holding title as Captain of the Sailing Team. It was this love of the water that attracted me to the Massachusetts Maritime Academy where I will graduate from with a Third Mates License within the next week. At the Academy, I was lucky enough to participate in once in a lifetime experiences, such as interning on an oil tanker as it transited the Panama Canal.While finishing up my education I was given the incredible opportunity to reside in Newport, RI. It is here that I heard about the unbelievable Internship which the ASTA had available. I am extremely excited about beginning my summer internship with the ASTA, and looking forward to the experience that it will bring with it. As well as looking forward to the amazing ports which will be visiting, I am eager to spend time aboard a ship, increasing my nautical knowledge and skills by learning through hands on experiences from experts in the field. As I beginning my career in the maritime industry, I consider myself lucky that I am able to take this time out and participate in this unusual and unique program. I am sure that in the years to come I will be able to take the lessons and experiences I will learn through, and from ASTA and apply them to my future positions in life.– Mary Schneider

Leave a Reply

 
