TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Almost over

Posted by astaheather on July 14, 2007

Today I did my first deck tours all season. I must give serious props to my fellow crew mates….deck tours are murder for crews on Tall Ships. There is the stereotypical questions suchs as “You go ALL the way up there?!” “Can we go down below?” and since my station was near the galley “What are you cooking in the KITCHEN (grrr on the use of non-nautical terms!) It was a long day and I only did four hours of deck tours, I really feel for those that did 8.

I am pretty sad that I will be leaving my Picton Castle family although I won’t miss the hour long night watches. This morning I was awoken by the sound of the gangway squeeking and squaking against a piece of plywood. Give me a call and I will imitate the sound for you. I also was granted the privilege of lighting the galley stove, which I failed at; nobody told me that I was supposed to light the diesel pan. I thought I was inept. Thank goodness Rebecca was already up to help. But of course 5 minutes after she went back to bed I thought I caught the galley on fire. I later learned that you need to turn on the fan higher and you won’t get any diesel smoke on the galley. I freaked out and turned the fan down. Luckily Donald woke at 5:30am to start breakfast so hell didn’t break loose. We had eggs and hot water so I didn’t fail too much. 

I only have 2 nights and 1 day left with Picton Castle……WHAAAAAAAA! (That’s the sound of my crying)

Leave a Reply

 
