TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Back Home…

Posted by astaheather on August 6, 2007

Last Monday I finally was able to bring Matt to the ship that started my love for tall ship sailing, the Continental Sloop Providence. The ship looks just about the same, which means she still needs a lot of love and a lot of work. I was filled with apprehension because I didn’t really know what type of kids I’d be working with for the week. The group of trainnes that paricipated last week was the third group of cadets that I’d be teaching sailing on board a tall ships. I had an idea about what I was supposed to do with the students and I wasn’t sure  how enthusiastic they would be.

If we were back in time during the golden age of sailing, you would have thought the students were shanghaied into service. It was already hot and muggy at 9am  Monday morning and there was no air conditioning or abundance of shade. The students were more interested in their own conversations than learning about the  ship and they all wanted to jump overboard for a swim. Lunch time was their favorite part of the day…followed by 3pm when the bus came to pick them up.

But no worries, I had done this before and I knew that their attitudes would change.

Leave a Reply

 
