TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Tall Ship Tweets- Follow me on Twitter!

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

The last post…

Posted by astaheather on August 16, 2007

Matt, Heather and the PC crew in Halifax 

Well, its time to write that last post…my time here is almost over. And by here I mean at the ASTA office, not here as in the world. It’s been real…it’s been fun…it’s been real fun.  I am very thankful for the internship and the opportunities that it gave me. I got to sail on my dream Tall Ship, Picton Castle and I finally made it to the ASTA TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE(r). I went to Canada after all and, let me tell you, they don’t all say “aboot”.  I learned a heck of a lot more about sailing. I worked with great kids and got to show them some sailing that  not many people get to see or do at their age, or at all. 

I hate thinking that I will soon be behind a desk at school and not at the helm of a tall ship. After this, my job with ASTA ends….I’ll still be volunteering here at the Newport office, I won’t ever be able to leave this place. I’ll be going back to school at URI for my sophmore year and I will also be working onboard the Schooner Aurora, so at least I will be at the helm for a little bit. I am planning on attending the ASTA Annual Conference (and so should everyone else) in Victoria, British Columbia. I am also planning on going to Lunenberg to volunteer on Picton Castle during January for my winter “vacation”.

I met amazing people this summer. PC crew and trainees, you are all near and dear to my heart. The Providence crew, ya’ll are pretty rad as well. I also had the greatest bosses ever, Jonathan and Erin. Thank you so much for everything! 

I had an amazing summer. Thanks for the memories and thanks for the elephants.

Leave a Reply

 
