TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Summer Special Guest Bloggers

Posted by Tall Ships America on May 5, 2010

   

 In addition to the summer intern blogs (meet the interns here) we will have special guest bloggers throughout the series sharing thier experiences aboard two very different ships.   

  

Matt Maples

Matt Maples, a 2007 ASTA intern and now crew on Europa, will be reprising his Young Man and the Sea blog and we couldn’t be more thrilled!  Last summer during the TALL SHIPS ATLANTIC CHALLENGE(r), Matt blogged and photographed his way from Bermuda to Charleston,  Boston, Halifax and Belfast, Northern Ireland. I encourage you to read about his journey and to view his photos here.  

Our other blogger is Ben Rogers an AB on US Brig Niagara for the season.  You can read about this Kansas City native’s adventures aboard Picton Castle  at Wind and Wonder.   Intrigued?  Here’s his bio:      

Our newest blogger

    I was introduced to tall ships on my 14th birthday, when I received as a gift one  week aboard the Schooner Harvey Gamage. I was hooked, and took a job to pay  for the next summer and the next, and all through high school.       

I graduated from Southern Nazarene University with my bachelor’s in  journalism,  and along the way participated in the Voyage of Understanding aboard the Brig Prince William. Shortly after graduating in 2006 I made my way aboard Barque Picton Castle as a volunteer, then a summer as deckhand back aboard Harvey Gamage, and most recently I spent two years working and sailing in Picton Castle as A.B. and then bosun. I am now working in Niagara as an A.B.  

My last meal would be baby back ribs and cold beer. My celebrity crushes are Natalie Portman, Beyonce, and Captain Cook.  

So, be sure to visit often, this is going to be one busy blog this summer and there will be something new every day once the season really gets going. Tomorrow, I post Ben’s first entry (with photos!) of Niagara‘s uprig and shakedown sail.  And it begins!  

Leave a Reply

 
