TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Posts from the Denis Sullivan No. 5: When the Wind is High Enough

Posted by Tall Ships America on August 1, 2010

July 28, 2010 – 2:16pm — Natalie Joynton

It’s three in the morning and someone is at my bunk, whispering my name. 

“Natalie.” A woman.
 
“Natalie,” Rebecca repeats. “You have thirty minutes until watch. It’s cold.  Bring your jacket.” I resist the urge to pull my comforter over back over my head. I know that the watch before me, who have been on since eleven, won’t be released until I am up on deck.
           
That’s the way “watch” works aboard the Sullivan: after nine hours off, part of the crew has a four or five hour shift. Each watch we work is at a different time, and we get a full night’s sleep every third night. The crew is split evenly into watches, and there is always a crew on watch. Having the 3-8 am shift means I’ll go on watch again after dinner, around 6 pm. I pull myself out of my bunk and start searching for my sweater in the dark. 

Leave a Reply

 
