TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Tall Ship Tweets- Follow me on Twitter!

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

I’d like you to meet…

Posted by Tall Ships America on June 20, 2012

…Our new intern for 2012- Welcome, Deborah! Tall Ships America’s summer internship program is one of my favorite things about our TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE(r) Series and every year, I am so excited to meet our newbies. They have a tough but fun job over the summer, since they are our support team (and generally make my job easier) and work very closely with the ships and port organizers. Most importantly, our summer interns represent Tall Ships America not only during the summer, but even after the program has ended and they have left to go back to the “real world”.  

This year, we have a shortened intern season. Deborah will be joining us for the month of July in Newport and Halifax only. Hopefully we can get her onboard a ship for the sail up to Halifax and have her share the experience on this blog.

 

My name is Deborah Lee. I am a sophomore at Mitchell College and am majoring in Environmental Studies. I have done many different things throughout my life and love being on the water. Before getting into sailing, I was a swimmer and rowed with the Sagamore Rowing Club in Oyster Bay, Long Island.

 My love of sailing began when my uncle took me sailing on his Catalina 310.  Then I had the opportunity to go on several trips with Ocean Classroom. During my junior year of High School we flew to the British Virgin Islands and sailed for a week around the islands. I sailed on the Spirit of Massachusetts and learned about how everything on the ship works. I enjoyed the first trip so much, I went to Advanced Seafaring Camp with Ocean Classroom that summer and sailed for two weeks from Maine to Boston on the Harvey Gamage. That trip was different because I was not with my school. I learned many new things that I had not learned before and got to visit and experience new places. Then, I was lucky enough to travel to the Virgin Islands again during my senior year with my High School and sailed on the Harvey Gamage.  Because I had sailed previously, I was able to assist and help teach my classmates who went on the trip things I had already learned. This past summer, I was a volunteer/apprentice crew member with Ocean Classroom. I went on three five day trips bringing the ship form one port to another port. These voyages were different because this time I was considered an actual crew member rather than a student crew member. With these experiences, I was now hooked.  I got my Basic Keelboat Certification and took part in a recreational summer racing series. Then with the start of college this past fall, my sailing career reached a new level as a member of my sailing team at Mitchell College. Being an intern with Tall Ships America is like a dream come true.

 I live on Long Island, NY, and love being on and around the water.  I come from a large family, having four older siblings and many animals. I love spending time with my family and friends.  An ideal future would involve combining my love of sailing with environmental studies/marine science.

One Response to “I’d like you to meet…”

  1. deblee20 said

    Reblogged this on Deblee20's Blog.

Leave a Reply

 
