TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

A fresh crop

Posted by Tall Ships America on May 30, 2013

The Tall Ships America summer internship program continues this year with two new eager young sailors and tall ship enthusiasts. Brian (who you may remember from EAGLE) and Eliza  will be an integral part of the Race Team while we are on the road. They will be writing about their experiences on the blog during the festivals and while at sea. 

Eliza Eliza Braunstein cropped

       Raised in the land-locked Connecticut suburbs, Eliza learned to sail on the icy lakes of western Massachusetts. After several years of racing dinghies and crewing tall ships, she is looking forward to joining Tall Ships America as an intern. Her most memorable moment is when the Tall Ships America fleet and naval vessels from all over the world were at anchor together off the coast of Virginia last year. Now, she is excited to help coordinate the summer festivals and is looking forward to this summer’s adventures!
 
Brian 
Brian HolmenLR

     I grew up in Park City, Utah, A small ski town, very far away from the ocean. However, this didn’t stop me from getting out to Los Angeles every summer to sail on the Brigantine Irving Johnson.
      Irving Johnson is where I got my introduction into tall ships and I ended up spending time on the boat every summer since 2009.  When I first started sailing I was also given the opportunity to sail on the Coast Guard Cutter Eagle during the Tall Ship races on the west coast of the United States. This experience opened my eyes to the tall ships and I saw it as a way to see the world. In 2010 I was able to participate in the Great Lakes United TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® on board the Europa. Sailing on Europa taught ME many different things in Seamanship and broadened my knowledge as a sailor. In 2011, I went back to Irving Johnson to work on the boat as a deckhand for the summer months. During that summer,  I spent most of time working with at-risk youth. I hope to make experiences like the ones I have had possible for any person that is interested in Sailing.

      Currently I am attending the University of Utah and majoring in business. I am also working on getting my Emergency Medical Technician certification and I hope to use it on tall ships. Besides being a student, I coach ski racing at one of the local ski resorts. Skiing has been one of my other passions in life and I am happy to have lived in a place where skiing is so accessible. I just need to find a place that has both skiing and sailing and I will be set for life.

Brian and Eliza will join the team for the Redpath Waterfront Festival Toronto on June 20th. I leave for Brockville Tall Ships(R) 1812 Tour on June 13 (after a quick jaunt to San Pedro, CA for a site visit and meetings for 2014 next week) so coverage for the TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE(r) Great Lakes 2013 will begin in earnest starting then.  If you don’t want to miss any updates, follow me on Twitter @tallshipsfleet or subscribe to the TSC blog and get the posts delivered directly to your inbox.

If you must get your tall ship fix before then, check out the blog of Pride of Baltimore II as they make their way to the Great Lakes.

Leave a Reply

 
