TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Tall Ship Tweets- Follow me on Twitter!

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

If I Had A Million Dollars…

Posted by Tall Ships America on July 22, 2014

The National Park Service’s Maritime Heritage Program, in partnership with the U.S. Department of Transportation Maritime Administration, has approximately $1.7 million in grant funding available for education and preservation projects related to U.S. maritime history.

The grants are available to state, tribal and local governments, as well as private non-profit organizations. Education grants can be used for programs such as school curriculum, interpretive programs and web pages. Preservation grant projects will include restoration of ships and other maritime resources.

Details of the grant program, including the application process, are available at http://www.nps.gov/maritime/grants/2014.htm. Grant applications will be accepted through Tuesday, September 23.

Think of all the things you could do with more money*…

…If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d restore your ship / I would restore your ship.

And if I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / I’d buy you equipment for your ship / Maybe a nice AIS or a rescue boat.

And if I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d buy you a new wrench / A nice and shiny new wrench / And if I had a million dollars, I’d buy your drill.

If I had a million dollars / I’d make a foot-rope for your yard / If I had a million dollars you could help / It wouldn’t be that hard.

If I had a million dollars / Maybe we could put a little tiny fridge / In the saloon / We could just go down there and hang out.

Like open the fridge and stuff / And there’d be foods Cook laid out for us / Like little pre-wrapped sausages and things. Mmmmmm.

They have pre-wrapped sausages / But they don’t have pre-wrapped bacon / Well, can you blame them? / Yeah!

If I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d buy you black powder / But not a real round shot, that’s bad.

And if I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d buy you a cuddly ship’s pet / Yep, like a llama or an emu.

And if I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d buy you nautical charts / All them crazy divider tools / And if I had a million dollars I’d buy black pens.

If I had a million dollars / We wouldn’t have to steer by the stars / If I had a million dollars / We’d use the red planet / ’cause why not Mars?

If I had a million dollars / We wouldn’t have to conserve Diesel / But we would conserve Diesel.

Of course we would, we’d just sail more / And buy really expensive canvas for sails / That’s right, all the fanciest natural fibers.

If I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / Well, I’d buy you an anchor / Haven’t you always wanted an anchor? / If I had a million dollars I’d buy your caulk.

If I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars / If I had a million dollars…

I’d be rich!

(Original Lyrics by Barenaked Ladies – If I Had A Million Dollars)

 * Disclaimer: These suggestions may not qualify in their entirety for the grants.

Leave a Reply

 
