TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Recent Posts

  • Tall Ship Tweets- Follow me on Twitter!

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

Welcome Interns!

Posted by Tall Ships America on June 22, 2015

We are pleased to announce that two summer interns will join the Race Team for the TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Atlantic Coast 2015 Race Series. A huge welcome to Anna Sprague and James Rogers!

~

Each summer during the TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Race Series, Tall Ships America offers a team of young people the opportunity to serve as interns with the TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Race Team. Throughout the course of the summer series, the interns help the TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Assistant in the race office; interact with participating vessels, their crews and trainees, the port organizers and the volunteers; and represent Tall Ships America to the hundreds of thousands of people who come out to see the tall ships; and go sailing, take photographs, and blog about their experiences. Long days and hard work are a part of the job – but so are enduring friendships and memories that will last a lifetime. Since the first TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Race Series in the summer of 2001, young people from the United States and Canada, and from as far away as Japan, have had the chance to experience the CHALLENGE from this unique perspective.

~

You can follow their adventures all summer long on our TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Blog!

ANNA SPRAGUE

Anna Sprague

Anna was raised in Savannah, GA. She grew up sailing a sunfish off Tybee Island. In college, she started dingy racing and sailing tall ships. Anna immediately loves anyone who can make her laugh. She plays the dijurido, and is currently learning to play the guitar. Her most common phrase is, “It’s chilly.” Anna is looking forward to working with new crews and vessels this summer.

JAMES ROGERS

James Rogers

My name is James Rogers. I am 15 years old and I will be a sophomore in North Kingstown Senior High School as of this upcoming fall. I was born in Campbell Hall, New York, on March 23, 2000. some of my interests are ships/sailing, fencing, music, poetry and socializing. I like to think that I am hard working, in addition to being very approachable and attentive. Being raised around tall ships, I couldn’t wait to go sailing aboard  the schooner Harvey Gamage in the summer of 2013. My second time I sailed aboard a tall ship was this past August, when I was aboard the brig Niagara, where I will be returning once again after my internship this summer. As a kid, I always wished my dad would take me to the events with him so that I could see the ports and check out all the tall ships I had never seen before. Now, it looks like I finally have that opportunity.

Leave a Reply

 
