TALL SHIPS CHALLENGE® Series Official Blog

Sea stories, scuttlebutt and fantastic photos covering America\’s official Tall Ships® Races!

  • Follow Us

  • Follow the blog- Click below to have posts delivered to your inbox

  • Search posts by category

  • Archives

It’s like the end of an ERA…

Posted by meredith87 on August 9, 2006

sunset

I am sitting in the ASTA office here in Chicago coming to terms with the fact that this is my last official day as a 2006 Intern…sigh. I cannot even begin to describe what an amazing experience this has been, and the only reason that I am not extremely sad right now is because I am fortunate enough to be sailing aboard Niagara until Port Huron.

Chicago has been a bustling city and has been very kind to the tall ships that called this city home for a week. It is nearing the end of the summer for all of us, we are all gearing up for that long trek home…I am going to miss this.

I don’t know if this will be my last entry or not, but I thought that I would say a big thank you to ASTA for giving me this opportunity of a lifetime. Jonathan (dad), your sarcasm got me through some rough days, Erin (mom) your optimism is unlike any other, Mary you are the most generous person I have ever met-don’t ever lose that, Alex your enthusiastic approach to connecting with people is unmatched in this world. To Peter, Lori, Jen, (and Cal) without your support throughout the summer we never would have made it (especially considering the way Jonathan drives!!)  

For those of you who got to come and visit us at one of our ports this year, I hope you had a wonderful time. For those who couldn’t, I hope that our posts have given you the motivation to become an active part of this majestic world of tall ships.

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” Gide, Andre

Leave a comment